Post #2 – Other Artists

I like to read other blogs that inspire. Wether it be other artists, fashion bloggers or self-help blogs. Blogs are a great way to source information / inspiration and share aswell!

For my main body of work this year most of my inspiration has come from reading the extremely inspiring blog Gala Darling. I have been reading Galas blog since 2011. Gala promotes Radical Self-Love which she describes as being self-esteem, confidence and self-respect all wrapped up together. My hope is to one day be as inspirational as she is within my own blog. If you haven’t already I absolutely recommend this blog for you all to read!

Alden Tan has also helped inspire my body of work for this year. After losing his dad in 2006, Alden realised how short life is and that you should live it happily and follow your dreams. To me Alden has a writing style that makes you feel as if he is one of your best friends, he is super relatable and that makes his blog an easy read (if you don’t mind his cursing haha). His post 31 things extremely confident people do differently is full of very true facts that have been helpful in my research.

When it comes to photographers who truly inspire me the ones who do are: Nan Goldin, Cindy Sherman, Edith Amituanai, Gregory Crewdson and Francesca Woodman but non of these photographers have blogs! So here are a couple of image makers blogs who’s work i love:

Shae Detar & Kimi Selfridge (Tan Camera)

These two photographers are quite similar, both are fashion photographers, both shoot with film and both are based in New York City. Shae Detar has a fine art style to her work, she uses paint to hand colour the majority of her photographs. Kimi Selfridge the photographer who is Tan Camera has a sort of snap shot aesthetic to her work and uses many fashion bloggers as her subjects. She has made a commitment to never edit her photographs to keep them honest and original.

I am always on the look out for new inspiring blogs to read, if you have any suggestions let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment